Posted by: karemyr10 | November 7, 2010

Daughtry: What about now?

Well its not surprise that I cried during this video. I am sure many of your know about Daughtry he was on American Idol and got kicked off towards the end. Well he went on to do pretty good for himself. I really enjoy his music. What in the world does he have to do with mental health. I recently saw their music video for their song “What about now?” They choose to talk about a range of Public Health issuse and all the people throughout the world that are doing things to help those in need world wide. Among the people featured is the guy from Charity Water, who Emily showed us in class. In a pervious post I talked about the relationship between poverty and mental illness. I don’t have to say much it is logical that there is a relationship between the two. However, I can’t say enough about it. I thought this video was appropriate in that it speaks about the issuse of poverty in the world in a way that is catchy and reaches a lot of people in a short amount of time. Also it encourages the viewer to get up and do something to help his/her neighbors. In class we speak about using social media to get the message through to people all the time. I wish we, in public health, would get in touch with Hollywood more often to get out agenda out there. And in fact we are! The CDC does a great job of getting in touch with Hollywood to get the right information out to the public. What if more celebrities would do this kind of promotion. Kids would be receiving good information and receiving encouragement to act. Mental health and other public health issuse are fun, interesting and rewarding. Enjoy the video and if you would please comment! 🙂

Food for thought:

Is this an effective way to educate people and motivate them to do something about health issues?

What is something that you have seen done that is similar to this?


Responses

  1. there are commercials on hulu with celebrities and their family members with mental illness. I think it’s great that people in places of power or recognition are speaking up about issues that are so important! I love psa’s and videos about real life advocacy.

    • Wow really? That is so cool I will post based on that in the next few weeks. Thank you so much for posting 🙂 I agree PSA’s are great!

  2. I think it is great to remind us that there are people out there who aren’t as fortunate as we are. Since we are so fortunate though we can use that to our advantage and become Public Health advocates to help improve living conditions for those not as fortunate as us.

    • I agree Traci. We need to help those who need it most it is truly that way that we can show our Christainty. 🙂 Thanks for posting!

  3. Music is such a powerful tool to get a point across. I think that this really is a touching way to remind us that there is so much sadness and sickness out there that we don’t even think about.

  4. I got teary with that video too! I always get such greater respect for the celebrities who try and change the world rather than try and change their wardrobe.

  5. I think that this a great tool to promote awareness and let people know about the issues in the world. We really have been blessed so much. Seeing things like this help remind me.

  6. Wow, thanks for sharing that! I hope you don’t mind if I share this on my blog. This is a great way to get the word out, because I really feel like awareness is super important. If everyone in America watched this video and was aware of the problems illustrated in it, many more would be moved to action. Freely we have received, freely we must give!!!!!!!

  7. What a great video! This is a great way to promote awareness!

  8. this is a great way to get more people involved. I am glad they made this video.

  9. I love that so many celebrities join such wonderful causes! We often look up to those in the media, and concerning issues related to charity work, I think it’s definitely one thing we can take to heart and try to follow.


Leave a comment

Categories